Had to Leave Microsoft to really appreciate OneNote

One of the first jobs I have landed is providing custom support to LinkedIn members.  It’s fun and reminds me of how much I have enjoyed working with various aspects of support and organizations like HDI in Chicago and Wisconsin.  I have not had to contribute or maintain a knowledge management system in years.  The questions that come up are often the same, so I was using Word to start organizing my responses.  Since the responses need to be categorized and searchable, I thought about what programs I have at my disposal on my computer and it dawned on me OneNote would be a great place to organize, search and retrieve these nuggets.

I have resisted OneNote except in my last position at Microsoft.  OneNote is where we shared customer notes as a team.  Up to that point, I hadn’t collaborated in a shared notebook often.  Now between this customer support job and training, I’ve found the real power of OneNote.  I’ll post some examples later – back to answering questions.

Leave a Reply

